Run with the Son. And a thank you. 

For the last three weeks my son has been asking when him and I could go for a run together as ‘it’s been AGES!’

I’ve hated explaining to him that I wasn’t allowed to run out doors as its fab that he wants to share something with me. 

We spent last summer running together – our block is just over a mile and we got in the habit of running parkrun together. 

  
Today I had an appointment.  And have finally had the green light to begin running again – with lots of warnings about stress fractures and what to do if symptoms reoccur. 

So when I got home from work, I said ‘it’s raining, it’s windy, dark and cold. Do you want to go for a run?’

His utter joy when he shouted ‘you can run again??? Yes please!!’ Made me utterly happy. 

So we went out in the freezing rain, the miserable wind and we ran round the block, chatting, laughing and having fun as if no time had passed since the last time we ran together. 

  
I’ve been overwhelmed by the kind and happy comments on social media about our little run around the block. The running community is truly special. 

So I’ll end with two cliches that ring home for me.  

   
Thank you all for your support, kindness and friendship. 

Now. The hard work begins….

Leave a Reply

