New Year, Happier Me!

Exactly two years ago, I wrote a post called New Year, Old Me about how I wanted to become healthy.

At the time I wrote the post, I don’t think I’d still be on this journey two years later.

My first year was a breeze, the weight came off quickly and I found I enjoyed the journey. Then came Christmas and I spent six months battling to lose the weight I put on in two weeks.

Then over the year, I rediscovered my activity mojo. I started with Swimathon & swam 5k for Marie Curie in April, and loved it.

20140101-134845.jpg

Then I had a bike for my birthday, and spent the summer happily cycling along the canal towpaths to and from work until I crashed. I still haven’t got over the fear of getting back on my bike but when the lighter days come back – I’ll be back!

Also in the summer, I joined The People’s Orchestra and I’ve found that being musically active again has improved my mental attitude & outlook. I hadn’t realised how much I’d missed music in my life, plus the commitment & work required to do my bit, and the fab new friends I’ve made have helped me refresh my attitude to a lot of things.

Over the summer, I gradually began to pick up my Couch 2 5k podcasts and began to enjoy finding time to run on the treadmill, and after a Parkrun suddenly realised that I found running joyous. That triggered me to look for help in getting better at it. With encouragement from my husband & some of our Twitter friends I’ve joined a beginners running group run by the West Bromwich Harriers. Again, I’ve started seeing myself in a new light, by what I’ve achieved with them & the new friends I’ve made.

I’ve also discovered a whole new world of friendship through Twitter, some of these friendships have spilled into the real world, but even those that haven’t are amazing. When I’m happy, people celebrate with me, when I’m down, there’s always someone to listen. And more often than not, I find myself inspired and in hysterical laughter with some of the conversations.

This year, I’m not making resolutions. I’m going to commit to making time to run, and I’ve entered a 10k event in May, so have a goal to work for. My goal to be a healthy weight, and a good role model for my children all of a sudden feels tangible and within reach, and I have no doubt I’ll get there.

20140101-140502.jpg

Leave a Reply

