Fitting in getting fit

Its been a little while since I posted an update on my journey to a healthy weight.

I’ve had a really good run recently, losing half a stone and been pretty active as well.

In the last few weeks I’ve tried zumba, yoga and circuits. My problem with classes is making time for them. My work hours can be a little erratic and I struggle to find a regular routine. Plus I’ve got no-one to go with – and although I have no issues going on my own, I think classes are much more fun when you’ve got someone to giggle with.

I also ran my first ever proper 5k last week. By proper, I mean at an event, with people & not in a gym on a treadmill. I was able to go with hubby to a Parkrun, as we had an extra pair of hands to help with the kids, while staying at parents in Liverpool. To find out more, read my hubby’s blog here. I had a wobble in the week leading up to it: “what if I come last?” “I don’t want to get the record for slowest ever 5k”

As ever, Twitter came to the rescue with encouragement and stopped my wobble!

It was a lovely sunny morning, and I was very nervous, not least as my fastest time in the gym is 52 minutes, and the slowest finisher the week before was 43 minutes. But I was there and no matter what I was determined to finish.

And I did.

In 37 minutes!

And I enjoyed it!

And I wasn’t last!

I was 186th out of 190.

Not bad for my first time. I’m not sure when I’ll get the chance to do it again as we need childcare plus it clashes with the kids’ swimming lessons, but if I get the chance I will.

The other thing I’ve rediscovered is cycling. Hubby bought me a bike for my birthday and I’ve gradually been regaining my confidence with riding it.

Today I went for my first proper bike ride along the canal and it was great. I felt 12 years old, and grinned the whole time. I cycled 9k in just under an hour. I’ve no idea if that’s bad or good but I don’t care – it was fun!

image

Leave a Reply

