Knot Sew Easy

I enjoy attempting to make things with my children, unfortunately, I take after my mother and do not find crafting things comes naturally.

I have to work quite hard at things like sewing, and even if I follow instructions to the letter, the end results very rarely match the example that caught my eye!

My grandma tried to teach me to knit as a child, however it’s a skill that unless practised, can be lost – and it’s well over 25 years since my lessons, and I’ve recently found myself wishing I could still do it.

While meandering around a homewares shop the other week, a set of knitting looms caught my eye. If you ever had a knitting dolly as a child, they are larger versions of these. And the set I found had ‘simple’ instructions in how to knit a beany hat.

So I thought, let’s give it a go!

I started on the smallest of the four looms, and created a hat.

It was tiny. So I gave it to my daughter’s doll. Within 2 hours it began to unravel.

Dolly Hat

More research about finishing off was required.

I found some great websites with ideas, so attempt number 2 was a snood/cowl for my daughter on the next sie up loom.

It was too small.

Can you see a pattern forming? (No pun intended!)

I went back to the hat idea, and went up to the next largest loom.

I finished the hat for my son today. No problems with unravelling this time. Just size,

Yes, it’s too small again! I think I’m doing something with the tension in the wool, that means that when I finish off, it pulls the hem tight. More research required.

Having said that – my boy seems quite happy and has been wearing it to play in.

Hat Front

20120515-182431.jpg

More research required, I’m not downhearted as each attempt has been more successful than the last.

Any tips welcome!

Leave a Reply

