Variety Is The Spice Of Rice!

Week 9 in my quest.

Saturday is our family sit down and eat together day, so I cooked pie – including pastry from scratch. It was delicious!

20120309-124402.jpg

Then we had family Sunday lunch and a birthday party.

Then straight into the routine of the working/school week.

Monday my other half was out, so it was a ‘sort yourself’ night. While he ready mealed, I found a recipe for butternut squash microwave risotto. I really enjoyed it and it was easy too.

Tuesday I was school governoring (no that’s not a real word, but I like it!), so we had a Chinese take away.

Wednesday was homemade chicken & sweet potato curry with rice.

It was only when I was looking at my meal plan on Thursday & started defrosting the ingredients for a bacon & leek risotto I spotted a theme!

Monday – risotto rice
Tuesday – Chinese rice
Wednesday – curry rice
Thursday – ….. You get the picture!

Now, I like rice, but four days on the go?

So Thursday became sausage & lentil one pot & mash (soooo tasty!)

So, how did this rice themed week affect my weight this week?

I lost 1/2lb, which is a total of 12 & 1/2 lbs. In this race, I’m definitely the tortoise, but that’s ok – I know if I plod along and just keep going, I’ll get there.

I leave you with this thought:

“Never eat more than you can lift.” ~Miss Piggy

Wise words, especially if it’s rice.

2 thoughts on “Variety Is The Spice Of Rice!

  1. Just imagine what it must be like being Japanese. 20009… rice, 2010 …rice, 2011…rice, must find way to end this joke.

Leave a Reply

