Run Stellian, run!

Over the last couple of years I’ve been working hard to lose quite a bit of weight and been relatively successful – losing 2 1/2 stone.

One thing I’ve never got to grips with though is exercise. I know I’m only going to get to a healthy weight if I sort out my eating AND my activity at the same time.

I’ve got a couple of things for the wii – which I never get round to because I’m running around after the kids or can’t be bothered to tidy up the toys so I have a clear space to move in.

So when I read about a free podcast from the NHS called ‘Couch to 5k’ I was intrigued.

It’s available from iTunes and the idea is that over 9 weeks where you go out 3 times a week, a coach will help you build up your stamina, so that at the end of the 9 weeks you can run 5k or for 1/2 an hour without stopping.

Well, today I have a rare day with no work & no children. The sun is shining so I gave week 1 a go.

The coach talks you through the plan and counts you down etc when you need to change pace and the music it plays to help you keep pace is quite good.

You start off with a 5 min brisk walk, then you run for 60 seconds, walk for 90 seconds & repeat until the 5 min walk at the end to cool down.

I’ve never run before (well since school & I’m now thirty something) and I coped really well.

I got out of breath but not excessively so. My legs are aching, but I could still jump up from the couch and do my shopping if I needed to.

I feel good and I’m already trying to work out how I can fit this into my normal family routine (chaos).

If you’re interested, search iTunes for ‘NHS couch to 5k’ or visit the NHS website here for more information:

http://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/c25k/Pages/couch-to-5k.aspx

Right, where’s the oxygen, chocolate & silver blanket?

Leave a Reply

